Blow, wind, blow

dscn2836
Gale force winds at the shore

 

We’ve been in south Texas for the past two months working as gate guards for the oil and gas industry.  During our long days and nights, it can get lonely.  But no matter how desolate our location, we have had one steady, faithful companion.  Not coyotes, though we have heard many.  Not roadrunners.  Not rattlesnakes (Thank the Lord!).  Our ever present, steadfast amigo has been The Wind. 

 

The Wind

by Robert Louis Stevenson

I saw you toss the kites on high
And blow the birds about the sky;
And all around I heard you pass,
Like ladies’ skirts across the grass

Oh wind, a blowing all day long,
Oh wind, that sings so loud a song!

I saw the different things you did,
But always you yourself you hid.
I felt you push, I heard you call,
I could not see yourself at all

Oh wind, a blowing all day long!
Oh wind, that sings so loud a song!

O you that are so strong and cold,
O blower, are you young or old?
Are you a beast of field and tree,
Or just a stronger child than me?

O wind, a blowing all day long,
O wind, that sings so loud a song!

20160920_170547
A little Kansas humor

Planted here these past couple of months, I’ve thought a lot about the wind.  The wind is a constant here in south Texas, at least during the winter months.  At times it is a playful tickle of a breeze, other times it is a battering ram, threatening to blow me right off my feet.

I’ve always been a “breezy kind of gal.”  I love to throw open the windows and feel the air wafting through the house or hang sheets on the line and watch the gusts catch and snap them to attention or fall into a hammock and lazily watch birds gliding on the currents high in the sky.

DSCN1947
Isn’t there ALWAYS a kite-flying breeze at the coast? Not today!

The wind has so many benefits, it brings a welcome relief on hot, sticky summer days.  It aids in pollination.  It dries the land after a rain.  And where would sailors be without the wind?  Yep, stuck in the doldrums.

DSCN1474
At Craters of the Moon National Park. Alan’s floppy hat doesn’t usually stand straight out like this,…very windy here!

 

But, too much of a good thing, and it’s a disaster.   Tornadoes and hurricanes can wreak havoc, plowing through entire neighborhoods causing death and destruction.  And remember the Dust Bowl?  That never ending wind moaned and groaned, whistled and shrieked its way into the minds of those poor folks on the plains, causing some to go mad.

 

DSCN2444
High surf caused by strong wind litters the shore with sea foam

 

The wind makes an appearance all through Scripture.  God caused a wind to blow across the earth after the Great Flood, drying the land (Genesis 8:1), God sent an east wind to part the Red Sea, allowing Moses and the children of Israel to escape bondage in Egypt (Exodus 14:21), Jesus calmed the storm by commanding the wind to stop (Luke 8:24), and the Holy Spirit entered the early church as a rushing wind (Acts 2:2).  God also uses the wind as a warning.  In Ephesians 4:14, we are encouraged to diligently study the Bible so we won’t be “tossed to and fro, and carried about with every wind of doctrine,…”   And no matter how good we think are, we are reminded in Isaiah 64:6, that we are unclean and “our iniquities, like the wind, have taken us away.”

DSCN2019
A powerful wind can change the direction of growth.

I think about the wind in regards to the ups and downs in my own life.  At times I find myself in the doldrums, desperate for any breath of air to stir up my soul and give me hope and purpose.  Other times all is well and I’m in the hammock of life, enjoying a gentle breeze as I reflect on God’s blessings.  And then there are the gale force winds that threaten to uproot me and those around me.  But whatever state I am in, I know I can cling to the One who controls the Wind.  And though the tempest may rage, I can “sing in the shadow of Your wings.”  Psalm 63:7.

DSCN3380

 

 

2 thoughts on “Blow, wind, blow

Leave a Reply

